My first blog post

blog
This is my first blog post. Who am I? Why am I here?

I debated for a while whether or not to get into blogging. My election to the American Academy of Family Physicians as the New Physician Director in the spring of 2012 pushed me a bit in the direction, as I knew I would be thrust into the world of health policy and advocacy for my year on the Board. But it wasn’t until my professional career leapt forward during the winter of 2013 that I decided to finally start blogging.

When offered the position of medical director for an eight-clinic-network of community health centers, I knew that I would be at the front lines of health care reform and changes for years to come. My life and career would be immersed in ACA (Affordable Care Act) implementation; advocating for communities historically underserved by our health care infrastructure; moving systems forward with issues such as PCMH (Patient-Centered Medical Home), pay-for-performance, and the primary care workforce shortage.

I hope that my work and advocacy will give me an insight and perspective into the future of health care and that this blog adds something to the broader conversation.

But it wasn’t only my work professionally in health care that drives me to write. My unique experiences as a husband, gay dad, Oak Parker, vegan chef, bicycle commuter, and backyard farmer, amongst others, have shaped and continue to shape my world view, and I hope to share this world view with those who might listen.

3 thoughts on “My first blog post

Leave a Reply

