Farmaggedon 2013: In the ground!

Arugula!

Arugula!


Our backyard “farm” flourishes after a slow start from the cold Spring. We’ve been able to harvest some greens like arugula, allowing us to replace lettuce and make nearly any meal a gourmet feast!

Harvested Arugula

Harvested Arugula…

... and Radishes!

… and Radishes!

A lot of folks ask me why I grow vegetables. It’s definitely not cost efficient, especially when you add the labor cost my family puts into it. Sure the vegetables we grow taste better than anything I’ve purchased at the grocery stores, ever (like ever, I figured that what I grow would taste better, but I was truly taken aback at the flavors; I couldn’t believe marinara sauce could taste that good!), but we could go to the farmers market and get locally grown organic vegetables picked a day or two ago which might be as tasty.

The answer for me is the same reason why I cook or take so many photographs: I love creating from scratch (when I’m good at it). I can’t draw, or sing, or write compelling fiction. But I can cook well from scratch, take nice photos, and grow delicious vegetables. And being able to combine all these three, taking fun shots of the farm and making delicious meals from the vegetables picked that day from my backyard… that’s golden!

Working the garden!

Working the garden!

One of nearly 10 tomato plants surviving the transplant

One of nearly 10 tomato plants surviving the transplant

Pea plants climbing

Pea plants climbing

Winter squash just before they stretch clear across the yard

Winter squash just before they stretch clear across the yard

Lemon grass just placed into pots

Lemon grass just placed into pots

Radishes look ready!

Radishes look ready!

The celery in transplanted into rows

The celery in transplanted into rows

Leave a Reply

